In this photo illustration, the Google IO logo is seen displayed on a laptop screen

Google I/O 2024 is right around the corner, so here’s what you should expect from the highly anticipated live stream.

With OpenAI poised to announce its search engine in a matter of days, I/O 2024 is expected to be an important event, not only for developers and tech enthusiasts but also for Google. The company is also facing opposition from Apple, which is not only in talks with OpenAI but also has been rumored to be building its own Google-like products for some time now.

Scheduled on the heels of Apple’s surprisingly revealing iPad event, Google will more than likely be eager to reveal how its tech ecosystem will be peppered with generative AI features.

Here’s everything you need to know to tune in:

When is the Google I/O 2024 event?

The event is scheduled for Tuesday, May 14, 2024, at 10 a.m. PT. Here’s when it will be happening around the globe:

  • New York and Toronto: 1 p.m.

  • Houston and Chicago: 12 p.m.

  • London: 6 p.m.

  • Honolulu: 7 a.m.

  • Dubai: 9 p.m.

  • Lagos and Paris: 7 p.m.

  • Mumbai: 11:30 p.m.

How to Watch:

You can watch the live stream directly on YouTube. You can find the embed to that below:

What to Expect:

Android 15

I/O is set to be a pivotal event for unveiling the latest Android version, Android 15. The initial betas have introduced features such as an updated Privacy Sandbox, partial screen sharing options, system-level app archiving, enhanced satellite connectivity, more in-app camera controls, and a new power efficiency mode.

The majority of Android 15 updates, however, are expected to be revealed at the conference. According to Android Authority, some key anticipated features include satellite messaging, potential lock screen widgets for tablets, a new At a Glance widget for phones, a redesigned status bar, and improved battery health monitoring.

The event may also highlight third-party assistant integrations for Alexa and ChatGPT that could allow you to use the latter hands-free, as rumored by Android Authority. There may also be plans to introduce a privacy-focused feature called Private Space — which is expected to bring notable privacy enhancements.

Google Gemini

Speaking of AI, Google will spotlight its latest developments with Gemini, the AI chatbot previously known as Bard. The discussions will likely cover how Gemini AI is being incorporated into various Google products such as Android, Google Search, and Workspace — underlining the company’s commitment to integrating AI across its ecosystem.

As reported by Bloomberg’s Mark Gurman, Apple is finalizing a deal with OpenAI to integrate ChatGPT into iOS. Apple wants to do the same with Gemini but those plans are still being discussed with no deal reached.

According to WIRED, whatever Google announces on the AI front may be an insight into what Apple has in store for the World Wide Developers Conference in June.

Pixel Fold

Alongside these software developments, Google may give us an update on some of its hardware developments, particularly the next iteration of the Pixel Fold, which was introduced at I/O 2023. If rumors reported on by Android Police are to be believed, the new Fold will feature a larger cover screen, increased RAM, and expanded storage capacities — although the event might see a limited number of hardware announcements as Google increasingly prioritizes software and AI integration.

So, don’t hold high expectations for this, and if you were expecting news on the Pixel 9, sorry to disappoint.

WearOS

As confirmed in the conference’s session list, definitely expect to hear about Wear OS 5. TechRadar writes that Wear OS 5 is anticipated to debut on the Samsung Galaxy Watch 7. This news could be announced either at I/o or during Samsung’s Unpacked event rumored for July, with shipping expected in August.

As TechRadar notes, leaks suggest that Samsung is working to integrate Wear OS 5 with its new Exynos 5535 chipset, which will first appear in the Galaxy Watch 7. However, Samsung’s version of Wear OS 5 will feature the One UI Watch overlay, offering a customized user experience.

Those seeking a purer version of Wear OS 5 might have to wait for the Google Pixel Watch 3, expected to be released in October.

©